The elected officials who serve as the Clewiston City Commission are a dedicated group of people with great pride for their community. The Mayor, Vice Mayor and City Commissioners are the governing body of the City. They set policies and rules by which the City is operated, including establishing goals and targeting issues as well as setting the tax rates.

Members of the City Commission are elected at-large and elections are held during the Hendry County General Election on the first Tuesday after the first Monday in November of each even numbered year. At each election, three commissioners are elected; the two candidates receiving the highest vote total are elected for a four-year term and the third candidate is elected for a two-year term. Commission candidates must be registered voters of the City and must have resided within the corporate limits for one year at time of election qualification, and if elected, continue to reside within the City during their full term of office.

During the first regular meeting in December of each general election year, the City Commission holds an Organizational Meeting and from their number appoints by majority vote, the Mayor and Vice Mayor. The Mayor is recognized as the head of government for all ceremonial purposes. The Vice Mayor shall serve in the absence of the Mayor.

Regular Commission meetings are held on the third Monday of each month, starting at 5:00 p.m. in the city hall commission chambers, 115 West Ventura Avenue.  Special meetings may be held at the call of the Mayor or by a majority of the Commission.

If you have an issue you wish to discuss at a city commission meeting, submit a written request to be included on the next commission meeting's agenda. Direct your request to City Clerk Kathy Combass at or telephone (863) 983-1484.
The current members of the City of Clewiston City Commission are James Pittman, Mayor; Greg Thompson, Vice Mayor; Barbara Edmonds, Commissioner; Mali Gardner, Commissioner; and Hillary Hyslope, Commissioner.